Stokesley School: Alumni – Introducing the shortlisted candidates of the STEM Awards 2017

Well done and good luck to former student, Maisie Snowdon, one of the shortlisted students of The Telegraph STEM Awards 2017.

Today’s students are tomorrow’s innovators – and the shortlisted candidates of the Telegraph STEM Awards 2017 suggest that the future is looking very bright indeed.

Now in its fourth year, the competition, held in association with Babcock International Group, encourages the most talented and ambitious UK science, technology, engineering and mathematics undergraduates to push themselves beyond their degree syllabuses. Entrants have the chance to win a £25,000 cash prize, plus a bespoke mentoring programme.

This year, students were asked to choose one of six sector-specific challenges set by the Awards’ sponsors: GSK (Healthcare), Atkins (Design), McLaren (Innovation), BAE Systems (Defence Technology), Rolls-Royce (Power Systems) and Semta (Energy). They then had to submit a proposal outlining how they would address it.

The sponsors were faced with the tricky task of whittling down the submissions to a shortlist of standout ideas. We’re delighted to announce the shortlisted candidates going through to the final of the 2017 Telegraph STEM Awards:

Power Systems sponsored by Rolls-Royce 

  • Oishi Deb – University of Leicester
  • Muhammad Afiq Mohd Ariffin – Anglia Ruskin University
  • Kieran Duncan – Edinburgh Napier University
  • Quasim Alhaji – University of Highlands and Islands
  • Tom Whitehouse – Imperial College London

Design sponsored by Atkins

  • Jessica Keates – UWE
  • Simon Gangar – Aston University
  • Ewan McKenzie, Neil Robertson – Strathclyde University
  • Mohamed Binesmael – Cardiff University
  • Julian Vercruysse – University of Edinburgh

Energy sponsored by Semta

  • Laura Jones – University of Liverpool
  • Harry Bartley – University of York
  • James Russ – University of Bath
  • Maisie Snowdon – University of Chester

  • Angus Lowe – University of Edinburgh

Healthcare sponsored by GSK 

  • Kristina Smith – King’s College London
  • Desmond Cheung – Imperial College London
  • Maximillian Medhurst and Ganesh Sivamani  – University of Cambridge
  • Nick Cawthra – Loughborough University
  • Ajay Dussaye – University of Birmingham

Defence Technology sponsored by BAE Systems 

  • Callum Penrose – Exeter University
  • Jack Buller – University of Sheffield
  • Scott Lemmon, Daniel Moses, Sam Ashton, Ben Pamment – Sheffield Hallam University
  • Joe Gibson – University of Strathclyde
  • Jonathan Mounty – King’s College London

Innovation sponsored by McLaren

  • Jack Noble – University of Edinburgh
  • David Vidonovic – University of Oxford
  • Gareth Humphries – University of Birmingham
  • Kurt Repose – University of Southampton
  • Daniel Buc – UCL

The overall winner will be announced at a ceremony in June 2017. For more stories on the future of STEM visit